Art that makes you smile

Work starting on 2016 Calendar

Each year I do at least 1 calendar with 12 different pictures centered around a character(s) – cat, bird, fish, truck or robot. Many of my drawings for the calendars tell a “story”. That story may not be the same for all who see it and it is fun to see the other stories that other people see in my drawings.

I brainstorm ideas for that character and list those ideas. Whenever I gt an idea I add to the list and use it for reference.  I then take those ideas and do a thumbnail or reference sketch to try and capture my thoughts and vision.

Swimming-to-a-Different-Drummer72web One of my 2016 calendars will be of fish. It has been a couple of years since I did a fish one, so it will be fun. This first drawing is called “Swimming to a Different Drummer”.

The concept of this comes from a mixture of ideas. I like tessellations and have done those with fish on a floorcloth. You get a sense of fish going in 2 directions at once. This is a variation on that theme where the majority of fish are going in one direction but there is one fish with a mind of her own that has to check out going in a different direction and looking for something else. She also looks and acts differently – a lone wolf of sorts, a rebel or misfit. It can any number of reasons for going in a different direction. The fish has individuality and does not just go with the masses.

One response

  1. This is a cool idea! Would make a great gift too 🙂

    May 20, 2015 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

